sharing unending light and love with all-that-is.

Daily Meditation 06 28 09

Hope is the companion of power, and mother of success; for who so hopes strongly has within him or her the gift of miracles.

~Samuel Smiles

Today’s Meditation:

Hope is a beautiful word in so many ways. Some people interpret the word in ways that make it sound like a weakness, but in the end hope is a great concept. It’s hope that keeps us going in life–hope for a better tomorrow for us all, hope for an end to war, hope for fair treatment for all people on the planet no matter their national origin or skin color or religion.

It’s that kind of hope that can change the world, for approaching such problems in any other way tends to perpetuate them. My power to change anything or do anything depends upon the amount of hope I have that such a thing actually can be done–without that hope, there’s really no chance of my success.

Often we won’t ever see the fulfillment of our hope. My hope for the end of war for humankind most certainly won’t come about in my lifetime, but I shan’t let that discourage or disillusion me. After all, my time on this planet is short, and changing such a huge issue as war will take much longer than my limited amount of time here.

Our hope can bring us many gifts, including seeming miracles. But I must nurture my hope and trust it, and allow it to guide me if it’s going to be of any use to me or to others who certainly can use it. If we hope–and if we trust that hope–we can do miraculous things, for ourselves and for others in our lives.

Humans are, properly speaking, based upon hope, we have no other possession but hope; this world of ours is emphatically the place of hope.

~Thomas Carlyle

© Living Life Fully®, all rights reserved. Please feel free to re-use material from this site other than copyrighted articles–contact each author for permission to use those. If you use material, it would be greatly appreciated if you would provide credit and a link back to the original source, and let us know where the material is published. Thank you. http://www.livinglifefully.com/

Leave a Reply

